CFDA Officially Names Lady Gaga an Icon, Announces Nominees for 2011 Awards

The list of 2011 CFDA Awards nominees were just announced, and there are plenty of familiar names. In brief, Lady Gaga is officially an American fashion icon, Marc Jacobs is nominated for womenswear but will be a winner even if he doesn’t take that category, and Alexander Wang and Proenza Schouler have quite a few chances at going home with a trophy. The full list of nominees are…

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year: Michael Bastian, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr

Accessory Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Joseph Altuzarra, Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen, and Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, and Robert Geller

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Alejandro Ingelmo, Eddie Borgo, Jason Wu, and Pamela Love

Honorary Awards

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Marc Jacobs

CFDA Board of Directors Special Tribute: Arthur Elgort “in honor of his impact on photography and fashion.”

Fashion Icon Award: Lady Gaga “for being a fashion revolutionary impacting style today.”

Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph

Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert: Hal Rubenstein of In Style.

International Award: Phoebe Philo for Celine {CFDA}

Follow Signature9:PinterestGoogle+InstagramBloglovin